Transition Planning Resources for Parents and Educators

This page contains resources that will assist 8th - 12th grade students with disabilities, their families, and teachers access the services and supports that will help in preparing for the next step after leaving high school. We encourage you to contact these organizations for more information or to schedule an informational session to learn more about what is available in the State and community that can support the transition to post-secondary employment and training, instruction as well as independent living. During the 9th grade school year, transition plans are required for all students receiving special education services and these organizations and resources can provide important assistance and support as IEP teams consider student needs and goals beyond high school.  

Please know that while parents may bring individuals that they feel are important to IEP team meetings, written permission is required for RSU 9 to invite specific representatives to student IEP team meetings. Contact your student's case manager or the Special Services Department for more information and guidance. 


**Downloadable file (pdf) at bottom of page


Dr. Kevin Good, M.A.; Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

University of Maine at Farmington - Center for Assistive Technology

Director

Division of Secondary Education and Special Education

College of Education, Health, and Rehabilitation

186 High Street

Kalikow Education Center 226 (Office)

Farmington, ME 04938

Phone: 207-778-7478

Email:kevin.good@maine.edu


Cathy Gavett

Penobscot Job Corp.

22 Armory Street

Augusta, ME 04330

Phone: 207-561-8625

Cell: 207-458-5369

Email:gavett.catherine@jobcorps.org


Jess Berry 

University of Maine at Farmington - Disability Services

Coordinator

Franklin Hall

252 Main Street

Farmington, ME 04938

Phone: 207-778-7295

Fax: 207-778-7298

TDD: 207-778-7000

Email: jess.berry@maine.edu


Bill Hughes, Admissions Officer

Strive U

39 Darling Ave.

South Portland, ME 04106

Phone: 207-879-1516

Email: bhughes@pslstrive.org

Jamie McKechnie

Department of Health and Human Services - Adult Services

Franklin County

Phone: 207-592-5736

Fax: 207-778-8410

Email: Jamie.McKechnie@maine.gov


John Brandt

Kathy Adams

Maine CITE

Maine CITE Coordinating Center

225 Western Ave.

Augusta, ME 04330

Phone: 207-621-3195

Email: jbrandt@mainecite.org

Email: kadams@mainecite.org


Kristin McPherson, LSW

Associate Director of Case Management

Life Enrichment Advancing People (LEAP)

128 Weld Road, Suite 1

Wilton, ME 04294

Phone: 207-860-4127

Fax: 207-778-6070

Email: kmcpherson@leapcommunity.org


Sally Beaulieu

GEAR UP

Regional Facilitator/Pilot coordinator

Phone: 207-441-4612

Email: sally@syntiro.org


Dori Fellman

GEAR UP

College Transition Coordinator 

Phone: 207-320-5789

Email: dori@syntiro.org


Debbie Gilmer

Syntiro

President

Phone: ​207-852-0992

Email: debbie@syntiro.org


Spencer Trenoweth

Department of Labor - Vocational Rehabilitation Services

Vocational Rehabilitation Counselor II, Transition 

Phone: 207-735-9055

Cell: 207-295-5952

Email: spencer.trenoweth@maine.gov


Comments